Search Penn State:   People | Departments | Web
Search this site:
Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Advising Awards

This page highlights some of the academic advising awards, both local and national, earned by Penn State advisers and advising programs.

Excellence in Advising Award

Established by the Undergraduate Student Government's Academic Assembly with support from the Office of Undergraduate Education, the Excellence in Advising Award recognizes advising excellence. Two categories serve to celebrate one faculty and one staff member who are outstanding academic advisers. All current, full-time employees with advising responsibilities are eligible. Selection criteria include general advising, academic guidance, career guidance, enthusiasm, and assistance in decision making.

National Academic Advising Association (NACADA) Awards and Recognition

  • Terry Musser, NACADA Scholarship, 1997
  • Navigating the First Year: A Model for Advising Exploratory Students, Outstanding Institutional Program Award, 1998
  • Robert B. Campbell, Outstanding Advisor Award, 1998
  • Linda Campitelli, Edward J. Danis, Michael J. Leonard, commission-sponsored conference sessions, 1999
  • Laura S. Brown, Outstanding Advisor Award, 2000
  • The Mentor: An Academic Advising Journal, Outstanding Publication Award (electronic category), 2000
  • The Penn State Adviser, Advisor Publication Award, 2001
  • Advising Handbook (Penn State Erie, The Behrend College), Advisor Publication Certificate of Merit, 2002
  • Eric R. White, The Virginia N. Gordon Award for Excellence in the Field of Advising, 2002
  • Ruth B. Hussey, Outstanding Advisor Award, 2003
  • Terry Musser, Research Grant, 2003
  • The Academic Review, Outstanding Advising Program Award, 2004
  • Michael J. Leonard, Service to Commission Award, Technology in Advising Commission, 2004
  • Jen Slusser, Gail Good, and Joy Sottile, Penn State Altoona, Best of Region 2 advising presentation, 2005
  • Terry Musser, Service to NACADA Region 2, 2005
  • Terry Musser, Outstanding Advising Award–Primary Role category, 2005
  • Shaun R. Harper, assistant professor and research associate, NACADA research grant, 2006
  • Janet Schulenberg, Outstanding New Adviser Certificate of Merit, 2007
  • Judith Goetz, Service to Commission Award, Advising Graduate and Professional Students Commission, 2007
  • Samuel D. Museus, doctoral student/research assistant, NACADA research grant, 2007
  • Sean Bridgen, Outstanding Advising - Primary Role Category - Certificate of Merit, 2010
  • Linda Higginson, Outstanding Advisor Program - Certificate of Merit, 2012
  • Terry Musser, Service to NACADA Winner, 2012
  • Matthew Rupert, Excellence in Advising - Primary Role, Mid-Atlantic Region, 2012
  • Nancy Dreschel, Excellence in Advising - Faculty Advisor, Mid-Atlantic Region, 2013
  • Jeffrey Gugino, Outstanding Advising - Primary Role Category - Certificate of Merit, 2015
  • Hilleary Himes, Contribution to Scholarship, 2015, Mid-Atlantic Region, 2015
  • Jamie McClintock Brenner, Advising Administrator Category - Certificate of Merit, Mid-Atlantic Region, 2015
  • Division of Undergraduate Studies, Advising Technology Innovation Award, 2016
  • Janet Schulenberg, Outstanding Contribution to Scholarship, Mid-Atlantic Region, 2016
  • Jane Emery, Advising Administrator Category - Certificate of Merit, Mid-Atlantic Region, 2016